Flight Simulation

Some people here may remember me mentioning that I’m a fixed wing aircraft pilot. I haven’t flown in several years due to life circumstances, but every winter, I get bitten by the flying bug once again. (It doesn’t help that I drive past a beautiful general aviation airport every day on my way to & from work.)

I don’t really have time at the moment to get back into the air (though that’s on my list of things I want to achieve in 2020), but I thought perhaps to start working out some of the rust via sim flying.

Of course, because I have no sense of proportion, I figured I’d also build something that would feel like flying a real aircraft – not a full-motion sim, of course, but something with realistic instruments, a quality yoke, throttle quadrant, and rudder pedals, etc.

Sooooo … I thought I’d start this thread to document my progress in case anyone’s interested!

5 Likes

SOFTWARE

I’ve been a fan of Laminar Research’s X-Plane for a long time, due to the fact that its flight models have been more realistic than those in Microsoft’s Flight Simulator. Also, MS Flight Simulator hasn’t had a major release in 13 years, so it’s pretty far behind X-Plane in terms of technology.

HOWEVER, Microsoft are about to rectify this – in 2020, they’ll be releasing an entirely new, almost unbelievably sophisticated version of Flight Simulator. The trailer above gives some sense of what’s in store – the graphics alone are stupendous, but there’s so much more – from the aircraft modeling to the weather to the ability to expand the software via 3rd party add-ons … I can’t wait!

Needless to say, whatever I build needs to be ready for the Microsoft release next year. But in the meantime, I’ll be running X-Plane 11:

2 Likes

RUDDER PEDALS - MFG Crosswind V2