Vainglory doesn't feel like it's retained it's quality; it's no longer as thrilling, or fun

Coming from a long period without playing, spending this time away thinking about what would make me genuinely return to Vainglory, and then returning, I think I’ve finally realized why I personally feel less invested in the game.

I’m not a UI designer, I’m not a game designer, I’m not someone who has eyes or knowledge to pick apart the nitty-gritty of the way this feels without it potentially sounding superficial, but the whole ‘soul’ of Vainglory that used to drive me to play for almost an hour a day has seemingly dissipated. It was like, my break from studying was studying Vainglory, I would even play for two or three hours sometimes, I loved it. I no longer feel that burning, innate desire to play, grow or improve.

There’s a few things that I suppose are causing this, all of which we’ve all spoken of before, from the broken matchmaking to the UI feeling lifeless and sterile, or maybe it’s the characters becoming stale, or maybe it’s something else additionally. After playing a multitude of rounds tonight, dealing with both wins, losses, wonderful teammates and frustrating ones, I’ve come to the conclusion that Vainglory is no longer fun - at least for me.

I love MOBAs. I love video games. I love social gaming (forgetting VG’s lacking communication, but playing with other people). Vainglory used to be so sweet, rewarding, and wholesome and it satisfied all of my gaming desires and even during losses I felt as if I made some sort of progress.

Not anymore, unfortunately. Rewards are bugged. Matchmaking times are awful. Pre-game draft and chat is a toxic mess. Too much griefing in-game. Finishing matches is a chore. All my motivation is gone.