Vainglory Discussion/Help

Hi Guys, I am new to vainglory. ( I transitioned from ML) and I LOVED THE GAMEPLAY however i was also very confused. I used to play tank but when i came here there were strange roles. So i have a few questions.

1. which role is a tank? Which lane is he/she supposed to go in?
  2. Whats a laner? can he go in any lane he wants?
  3. Ok this defense thing is so weird, so their is ability resist . is ability resist magical or physical damage resist?
  4. And lastly who are my carries? which role is supposed to do the damage, i played catherine she had some stuns but i had no idea who i was supposed to protect and who i was supposed to target.
    Thank you!
    if this has been discussed before i am sorry, i am totally new to forums . I tried searching but looks like no one is as dumb as me haha
2 Likes

I’ll try to answer your question with answers specifically for the 5v5 and 3v3 modes.

So, here goes nothing!

Answer No. 1:

A tank is usually the support (we call them Captains in Vainglory) in most cases. However, some heroes are also tanks and carries in one, which most will call them as bruiser heroes and they are usually used as junglers.

Here’s a list of the current tanks & bruisers:

• Captains: Ardan, Catherine, Churnwalker, Flicker, Fortress, Grace, Lance, Phinn, Yates.
  • Bruisers: Glaive, Grumpjaw, Krul, Tony.

For 3 vs 3, the ‘tank’ follows the jungler around in the jungle, and also goes to the lane to help the laner from time to time.

For 5 vs 5, the ‘Captain’ stays around the middle lane, because of the amount of Gold they can get from the mid laner farming. The ‘Bruiser’ goes around the jungle in between the two side lanes and the middle lane, taking jungle camps and ganking any of the lanes when they can.

Answer No.2:

A laner is one of the carries in a team. They usually go to and stay in a specific lane (this is mainly 5 vs 5 because there are three lanes to fill).