Sony Announces PlayStation Classic

1 Like

Man people are such suckers for nostalgia, you think they all would’ve just kept their childhood items in the attic or something.

Have you been looking in my attic? :wink:

1 Like

I thought that was an American standard. You see it all the time in 80s and 90s movies, kids go into the attic and find something wether it be magic or something significant to the parents. Actually now that I think about it, in the 80s and 90s there were so much media with characters finding an object in which the plot revolves around.

Money grab , I can download an emulator and any ps1 game from the Internet.

yawns in Sony

I want to see a ‘classic’ console that is owned by a gaming publisher or developer, that’s their own ‘console’ that has their own games.

Like… A Final Fantasy classic, that has titles throughout the ages that are easier to emulate?

I have no idea how this stuff works and I’m no scientist but it’s a nice dream to have, no?

That’s kind of a ridiculous criticism, to be honest. People with the know-how, hardware, and time to install an emulator, find and download the game ROMs, and tweak things to get them working are not the target market for these retro devices.

Fwiw, I collect old arcade machines, have built a custom MAME arcade cabinet, and have all of my old consoles dating back to the SEGA Master System … but I still might buy one of these for the convenience of being able to hook it up in a seconds wherever I am.

1 Like

I saw a tweet that instead of the ps mini they should do a ps2 mini with backwards compatibility, reads disks, reads old memory cards and supports sd cards, region unlocked, hdmi cable.

I’d honestly want this instead of the ps classic, liked ps2 so much more and have many disks I could replay.
But what would be really great was just a system that played the old ps library of ps, ps2, psp of both digital library (region unlocked) and read the old disks and memory cards, that’d be a dream.