PVP and hero selection

Colleagues,

I am a noob to Vainglory. I am just shy of level 9. I’ve played with several characters, in BOT mode, have decided on a couple I’d like to play in PVP and played my first PVP game, this morning. Rather than being able to select my hero, it seems I was randomly assigned a hero. I was assigned “PETAL.” Now, I don’t know about anyone else but Petal is NOT one of the two heroes that I want to play. From the time I got connected to the server for the PVP match, things moved quite quickly and I was not able to see much about changing heroes, but what I think I saw was the option to change heroes IF I paid 300 ice for the ability to change to another hero. Needless to say, I spent most of the battle watching the other two members of my team lose the battle while I was regenerating. I wanted to help my team but was embarrassed by my poor performance. I was honored after the match, for what reason I don’t know, by Moredrid. If you’re reading this, Moredrid, I’m sorry I let you down, buddy.

Anyway, my questions, are the heroes randomly assigned in PVP? If so, how do I change the hero to one that I WANT to play? Thank you for any assistance.

Regards,

LevArr1s

You played in the Battle Royale mode, where your hero is randomly selected. In all the other modes (Blitz and Casual/Ranked 3V3 and 5V5), you can freely choose any hero you have unlocked or those that are on the limited free-to-play hero rotation outside of ranked modes.
Also, I’m actually surprised that you’ve never played PvP, considering it’s one of the main appeals of the game genre.

7 Likes

Battle royal players are forgiving as you rarely get your main. Though i suggest beefing up to being able to have 6 heroes you can play decently if you want to avoid getting someone insta lockin

Thank you, DIMTI. I appreciate your quick response. That left a sour taste in my mouth. Of all the game modes I could have played, leave it to me to select the one that randomly assigns heroes.