Keeping a positive growth oriented mental state

Content archived from the OG Vainglory Forums - originally posted by Allex-14 on the 25th of September, 2016 archived by @DragonBuster

Welcome to the rating farm my lads,

Disclaimer: I am NOT a professional psychologist and I do NOT have any factual evidence or data to back up my argument. Everything I explain are be based on my personal experience and opinion. I do not mean to offend anyone who read this thread. This post is NOT a rant.

Introduction​
Today, I will try my best to dissect the important mental aspects of Vainglory. Unlike the other threads you are used to see in the forums, this thread is not a how-to-do list, but instead a why-to-do list. The purpose of this post depends on how carefully you read it and how much of it you can bring to your actual game-play. For myself, it’s just fun to write stuff like these once in awhile. Also, before I begin, I just want to quickly introduce myself. I go by many names and titles. In Vainglory, my name is Allex-14. I am more or less a veteran player for I have played the game since Nov. 2014. Enough time has passed that I can confidently say I have gone through pretty much all the ups and downs of a player’s mentality.

I. Why does mentality matter?

1. It’s biology guys​
    I might sound like Captain Obvious for saying this, but the very fact that your body is controlled by your brain makes mentality an essential part of a Vainglory player. Vainglory is not a physical game, it is a mental one. Whoever comes out on top in a match is depended on that person’s analytic skills, knowledge, experience, reflex, and healthy mentality to keep the player motivated (and fps and device CPU, but we don’t talk about that). I will explain what I mean by healthy mentality as we go along.

2. It can affect your play, drastically​