I Never Have Fun Whenever I Play 5v5

The problems I have with it might stem from confirmation bias, but I feel that getting boots seems to be a requirement since the map is so damn big and the heroes seem so slow, the scout cam recharge time seems way too long, even if you build the scout cam item. I feel that most people can’t find their ass without a map and a flashlight. There’s also the fact that I’m not very good with 5v5 in the first place, so I know that I’m a burden to my team, and even if I play as a roam, I can only do so much, as I’m mostly reliant on my team for any kind of damage, and whenever I leave a lane to go support another, the person in the lane I just left will often get killed and get salty that I “abandoned” them by the time I’m half way to the next lane. Not helping that is the fact that some laners are idiots that never build defense and blame the team for their incompetence. I also feel that the salt levels get exponentially higher the longer you’re in a 5v5 game.

2 Likes

What skill tier are we talking?

Try helping your laners push their minion waves. Don’t take last hits, but do what you can to relieve pressure. Then, move to another lane and repeat. 5v5 is all about applying map pressure, in a way that 3v3 really wasn’t. If a 5v5 lane is pushed, you know that lane is safe for a little while, and you’re free to roam to another area of the map.

You’ll have to use your scout cams with care. Think of the best vision spots that would warn your team of ganks, and try to maintain a cam there. But also balance it with the likelihood that you’ll be nearby to defend the cam, if possible. And feel free to double tap your cam if you’re out, to let your team know that you won’t be refreshing anything in the near future.

And yeah, you’re gonna need boots 99% of the time. But that was true of 3v3 as well, right?

6 Likes