Fundamental Problems with Vainglory

It saddens me to say this, but the Vainglory that we have all come to love has faded. With the release of 5 v 5, Vainglory is now riddled with the same problems that plague other MOBAs, on top of the existing 3 v 3 problems. Let me explain:

1. Game size and updates. Even after so long, we still have to re-download the whole game whenever an update is released, regardless of whether it is a small update of bug fixes or a large update like the release of 5 v 5. If other games can do it, why can’t SEMC?
  2. Game UI and features. This has been bugging me for a long time. From when I started playing TWO years ago, the UI and features in the game have hardly changed. All SEMC did from time to time was to refresh the layout, but no new features were added. We have been asking for the option to pre-select and even customize our builds for a long time now. Where is it?
  3. The app’s Internet connection breaks surprisingly easy. You’d think that for a 1 GB game, this wouldn’t happen, but it does. For example, while waiting to load into a match or while waiting to re-spawn, I open WhatsApp to read some messages. When I go back to the app, I’ve disconnected. Why is this happening? It’s so bad that merely pressing the home button on my phone disconnects me. It’s like the app must be running in the foreground to work. The moment it’s no longer the active app, the Internet connection is severed.
  4. Unbalanced heroes. I don’t understand how SEMC balances heroes anymore. It’s like they’re trying to balance heroes for 5 v 5, but also want to compromise for 3 v 3. I’m pretty sure SEMC is aware that some heroes are better in 5 v 5 while others are better in 3 v 3. Why don’t SEMC pick one game mode to focus on? Since they are clearly better at 3 v 3, why did they release 5 v 5 and create so many problems?

That’s all that I can think of at the moment. Let me know your thoughts on this matter guys.

1 Like