Best movies you've seen

i’m running low on movies to watch and would love some pretty good recommendations

Depends on what you like… What We Do in the Shadows is absolutely great (it’s a vampire mockumentary), and they’re making a television series out of it soon, so this could be a good time to check it out.

Goodbye, Lenin is another personal fave, set in East Germany around the time of 1989 revolution. It’s kind of a tragicomedy, I guess you’d call it. Definitely worth a watch.

oooo perfect. i’m still an apprentice at movies so i’d accept anything from any genre.
by the way, have you got any philosophy ones? i love philosophy more than anything

Yeah - what are you interested in? I just watched Triple Frontier, a Netflix film, it has a decent cast including Ben Affleck, and without giving a spoiler, it has some super surprising moments. I can usually predict outcomes/happenings in a film, but there were a few stressful and “I did not see that coming” moments. It’s an action movie. Former US soldiers looking to use their skills on their own to help themselves out.

Philosophy movies… Waking Life springs to mind.

Oh I almost forgot - Children of Men is really great. It’s not about philosophy, specifically, but still very thought-provoking. Wholeheartedly recommended.

oh, also also - Burn After Reading is another great one. Anything by the Coen brothers, really.

1 Like

comradery’s pretty great, and nobody dislikes a good plot twist. i’ll add it to the list, but if you’ve got something else, shoot!

Oh, and another - Kurosawa’s Stray Dog is great. It’s about a cop in post-war Japan who loses his gun and starts slipping into the criminal world to find it again. It’s set in a heatwave and I’ve never seen a movie that depicts stifling heat so well as this.

Kurosawa’s Yojimbo is another classic.