Apple's New Mac Pro

While I can’t possibly justify the cost of a Mac Pro, I am in fact lusting after one pretty badly …

I’ve been dying to get a Mac back on my desk for a couple of years now (my little Mac mini from 2010 just can’t hang with the big dogs any more), and with it looking like my iPad Pro is going to essentially be my new laptop, I think this is the year for it!

Trying to decide between souped-up Mac mini versus iMac versus iMac Pro but I WON’T LOOK AT THE MAC PRO I WON’T LOOK AT THE MAC PRO looks at Mac Pro I WON’T LOOK AT THE MAC PRO …

Don't do it, Hazel

2 Likes

The maxed out specs one will cost around 45 000$. The monitor is another 5-6 000$ and ofc, we can’t not mention that the stand will cost you another 1000$. :smiley:
Only around 52 000$ :sweat_smile:
Ofc you will not go for the maxed config, but all that matters will cost a lot too (and the cheapest option is too expensive for what it offers specs wise, even core i9 that is cheaper is faster than the 8 cores xeon there + it’s not sure that the motherboard is the same, so maybe you will have problems adding more ram too).

1 Like

Anyone who can afford this beast is not going to buy an 8-core model. It’s just there so they can say it “starts at $5999.”

Not sure I understand this comment. There’s only one MB for the Pro. Are you thinking of the RAM clock speed, which does differ for the 8 core model? Here are the possible RAM configurations from Apple’s Mac Pro specs page:

CloudApp

NO DON’T FALL FOR THE CHEESE GRATER

3 Likes

But but but … you can get it with wheels

(Which is appropriate, considering it costs as much a car.)

3 Likes